Sundays are Fundays

So this is the first Sunday of Lent. Lent is sort of this made up discipline (read: it’s not Biblical so much as a church tradition) that helps Christians reflect on the sacrifice of Christ. It ends with Easter Sunday, and each Sunday leading up to it counts as a mini-Easter celebration, or so Wikipedia says. Thus, Sundays are Fundays; you don’t have to fast.

Something you fast is usually what you consider a blessing, a comfort, something that makes you happy and that is above and beyond what you actually need. Such as meat.

I decided to give up Facebook.

I have really been missing my Facebook, and as the self-aware individual that I am, I’ve been asking myself why. I’ve noticed that I miss it when I have pictures of myself newly-scanned of me when  I was 13 and I want to show them to my friends. I miss it when I just finished five hours of work on a poster, a poster I want to show off because I’m proud of it.

And that’s when it hits me.

A lot of the time I spend on Facebook is vanity. Attention seeking.

I know my special need is attention, but dang, the cult of “me” has really been weighing heavy on my mind lately. I feel as if I have created an idol out of myself, worshiping the almighty “ME.” So much of what I do, especially my sins, is a result of my self-preservation, self-gratification, self-centered, self-aggrandizing, self-ish… hehe… behaviour.

No wonder I just started a new blog. :p

Now to figure out how to do this Christ-thing, where I sacrifice myself. Self-sacrifice.

Word Occurrences in this Post (Shame Meter):
me:  4
self:  10
I:  20

