Popping pine cones

So, in the heat, pine cones expand.

They go from this:

This

To this:

to this.

And they make little monosyllabic crackling sounds as they do it.

I discovered this by walking past the pine trees on my way home from work. It brings me joy.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jim Sularz says:

    My Austrian Pine is “popping” in my back yard right now! What a delightful sound it makes when the pine cones “pop!” I’ll be including this aspect of the tree in my next poem – “The Austrian Pine.” Thanks for sharing.

    Regards,

    Jim Sularz

Leave a Reply

