A Relational Being

My cat is a relational being.

The things I begrudge it for doing are usually behaviours induced by his desire for companionship, i.e. meowing incessantly, plucking the carpet under doors which are closed (and that I’m usually on the other side of), and crawling up beside my face in the morning as I lie in bed.

The poor little bugger.

Often his meowing really does stop if I just go and play with him for a bit. As an overweight cat, that means petting, lifting, and hugging – he’s not one to jump after bits of string.

I realize I am relational, but it was a bit of surprise to me to discover that the cat was so relational, as well. He really is happiest when he’s aggravating my allergies, otherwise known as being close.

Leave a Reply

