Erecting an Altar

Ok so you know how the Hebrews were awesome and would erect an altar to God at significant places along their journeys throughout the Old Testament? Abraham built them, Moses built them… here’s a fun little blurb from Joseph’s Dad (Jacob), about why he built an altar.

So this post, on my wee blog, shall be an altar to God, “who answered me in the day of my distress and who has been with me wherever I have gone.” Now that’s a tall order, but I realized last night that my eight consecutive hours of anger-free, tireless cleaning, tidying, bleaching, and laundering, could only have been possible with God. I knew that I had to do this great task (cleaning the apartment) and I knew it could only be done if I asked for God’s help and had confidence that he’d enable me.

I was amazed by how much I accomplished last night, and how I was able to get up this morning in time for work, but I knew that every time “accomplished” ran through my mind that it was Christ who had made it possible. It was in Christ that it was accomplished, “it” being the overcoming of my old self.

This is my wee altar.

My blog to the glory of God.

Now to put the rest of my life on the altar…

Leave a Reply

