Reflection

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

– Jesus, Matthew 11.28-30

What in the passage especially speaks to you right now?

God is with us. When I realize that, it humbles me greatly. But there’s a responsibility on me, too, to be with God.

What do you find a challenge, or hard to believe/understand?

Rest for my soul, an easy yoke and a light burden all seem a bit far from my realm of comprehension right now. I think this goes back to my thoughts on peace and joy – are we supposed to have those all the time?

I also don’t understand how to have a gentle heart – I don’t think I’m particularly gentle. Sometimes I think of throwing my cat over the balcony (to its death). Or my Father. And as for a humble heart? I feel like I face so much pride in others the only thing I can do is think I know it all or else I’ll get walked all over by stupid people.

I feel like this question dredged up stuff in my heart. HOW GLORIOUSLY INTERESTING. *taps fingers together* egggggcellent.

What do you most wish for? What feels particularly forced or ill-fitting?

Marriage. I most wish for marriage. But I will admit I still fear it (understandably so, I think).

Ill-fitting: Right now I’m pretty sure I’m supposed to be here, in Toronto, working at my job, with my fiance, at my church, living at my Dad’s, and yet I don’t feel happiness, or joy, or peace. I volunteer at the church and try to lead Bible Studies but I don’t know if I should be.

I think there is a theme in this post, and the last two: I don’t know what to do. I do, yet I don’t know if it’s right. Is this just a proverbial “hitting the wall” where I realize I’m in the dark for a reason and I’m just supposed to sit, humbled, and admit my dependence on God for all things illuminated? And he’ll open a door, shine a light, direct my path, and everything will be clear? Or am I to sit, humbled, with God in the Dark? And that’s the point?

Ill-fitting: My sense of entitlement to knowledge of good and evil.

Leave a Reply

