Peace like a river

I’ve got peace like a river, I’ve got peace like a river, I’ve got peace like a river in my soul….

I’ve been reading “Just How Married Do You Want to Be,” and I just read a section where the author talks about “living in the present.” In Western Culture we tend to live for the future, allowing ourselves to be become preoccupied with worries, and not truly appreciate the most important things in life, that is the people who are in front of us. I know a lot of my worries are due to this – being unappreciative of the good things of today because I’m worried about the what-ifs of the future.

You know what I’ve found to be a huge help?

Having friends pray for me.

That, and the newest gem I’ve found on the internet: A Practical Wedding.

While I’m not a fan of her header image, I’ve subscribed to her posts and viewing them in my google reader is just dandy. The most recent two posts are by brides who just got married, so they have some great retrospective wisdom. I think what I appreciate most is this little proverb, so clear from the day of the wedding, not so clear on the days leading up to it:

And always remember what it is about, you’re getting freakin married! Awesome!

I’ve had much more peace lately, and I’m pretty sure it’s because of those two things: the prayers of friends, and trying to enjoy the present.

Leave a Reply

