Swears

I know a lot of Christians who swear.

Is swearing ok? It still jars me a bit to hear swearing come nonchalantly from the mouths of my Christians friends. Not the f-word, per se, but the sweary version of “poop” seems to be increasingly normal. And “ass.” And “damn.”

I think it’s a petty issue. I don’t presently feel it’s an issue worth confronting people on. But I do wonder… is it sin? Because what goes through my mind when I’m really angry* is, “Well, no use swearing and making things worse…”

Am I being juvenile? Or pure? I dunno.

*or scared, or hateful, or sad, or in other situations where swear-words come to mind

3 Comments Add yours

  1. beth maher says:

    I tend to think swearing is more of an etiquette issue than a moral one. But etiquette is all about making people feel comfortable in different contexts (a very Christian sentiment, I think).

    If people are making you feel uncomfortable, maybe you should talk to them about it.

  2. Christine says:

    Yea, it doesn’t make me uncomfortable. Goodness knows, I did work at the Brock Press. ;)

    Pondersome!

  3. Stephanie says:

    I like this post and am sorry I didn’t see it before. I think I agree with you, and my overall answer would be that I don’t think the actual swear words themselves are sin, but the attitudes that back them usually are.

    Practical example from my college experience: I liked to use the British word “bloody” for emphasis because I thought it was quaint. I knew it had some questionable etymological history, but 95% of the time that didn’t influence my usage of it (probably once or twice I had a bad attitude and meant the uglier meaning). The nerds I hung out with had a penchant for using it too because we all thought it was cool to be British and didn’t find the word offensive.

    But then, some friends who had spent a lot of time studying abroad in Europe told me that it really bothered them because over there, “bloody” is equivalent in offensiveness to the F-word over here. I didn’t feel like it should be, but I stopped using it because that’s what *they* thought of whenever I used it, even if I didn’t think that. So, it might not have been *my* attitude in using the word, even, but the general attitude that people associated with it, which was my goal to avoid.

    As for more regular North American swear words, I strictly avoid using them because I would only use them to express nasty things that I should not.

Leave a Reply

