“Housewife”

Thoughts:

“Head of Household” is not a Biblical concept. It’s not in the Bible. If it’s sounds familiar it’s because there is ignorance on the topic. Tradition. The Biblical term is “Head of the Wife.”

Today I came upon the word “housewife.” I’ve always understood that to mean “stay-at-home mom.” But it’s often used interchangeably with the word “wife.”

I wonder if our culture
which elevates the house
owning a home
filling it with stuff
creating a space
supplementing our identity with our purchases
and acquisitions

has married us off to our stuff
rather than each other.

The Head is no longer attached to his wife, the holy image-of-God created other person. He is the Head of a House.

The wife is now a housewife, married to her home.

I like homes. I walk past them and admire what people can do with them. I’ve lived in nice ones. But it makes a lot of sense to me, when I look at the state of our economy, and the life goals of most people I know (almost all include “owning a home”) that perhaps “the biggest, most significant purchase you’ll ever make in your whole life” – basically the epitome of “stuff” has taken over the role of what is at the centre of our hopes and dreams.

People are the only eternal things.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyenide says:

    Amen.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Sorry, that last one was me.

  3. Stephanie says:

    …and apparently wordpress didn’t publish it? Stupid thing. Original post said “Amen.”

  4. Christine says:

    it waited for me to “approve” it for some reason. BIZARRE.

Leave a Reply

