When I became a Christian

I think I’m just bad with math, or maybe I made an assumption at some point that I just never challenged.

In my Bible I wrote down that I became a Christian January 10th, 1999. I kinda picked that day, rather than the 5th, because the 5th was a friend’s birthday and I didn’t want to crowd her day. I don’t remember the exact day because I didn’t realize quite what had happened until a year later (or so).

For the longest time I said I became a Christian when I was 11 years old. But I was born in August, 1986, so, according to math, in January 1999 I would’ve been 12.

Here’s where it gets complicated.

I skipped grade 6. So I know I became a Christian over Christmas break in grade 8. Why? Because my life fell apart in grade 7, and continued to spiral over the summer. I hit rock bottom the first semester of grade 8 and finally decided to recognize God’s love for me through Jesus – and allow him to change my life – sometime around Christmas. Likely just after Christmas, before going back to school or just after it started again.

Ok I guess I’ve figured it out, it wasn’t that hard. Just don’t know where I ever got “11” from. But that was definitely the age I quoted for a long time in my testimonies…

I didn’t notice my spiritual birthday pass this year.

Probably because early January was my burnout after Urbana 09.

I have been a Christian for 11 years and 7 months.

My birthday is Friday.

Leave a Reply

