Blogging church #3

Announcements. Does it actually bother me that the pastors always deliver the announcements? I used to be annoyed because it communicated that the pastors felt the need to do everything. And it’d be nice to see a new face up there. Or even opening prayer – why does the pastor always do it? I guess this is where people get the idea that the pastor is the only place you can receive spiritual care from. No delegation.

Second sermon in a row where a phone call pretending to interrupt the service adds to the message.

Talking about the care ministry at church. I wonder who I would talk to to take advantage of those resources. I get the feeling those are for the elderly at our church.

Feeling light-headed and nauseous this morning. Too much sleep yesterday.

Mental health issues. Has.

I don’t remember the rest of the sermon. I didn’t pay attention. Unfortunately, here is another Sunday where I found myself drowning in my own thoughts. Fascinating how church is one of the triggers for my depression – I’m just reminded of what I don’t have and don’t see but once knew and so want.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kayla Hillier says:

    I feel like I can relate to the struggle that you’re going through- but I could be completely wrong since everyone’s thoughts can be so drastically different than another person’s.

    Choosing to study philosophy in university essentially flipped my entire belief system on its head and resulted in a bunch of shenanigans.

  2. Jena says:

    I have found that during times in my life when I am struggling emotionally, it is all that more acute at Church. Maybe because the praise songs and the sermon hit one on a far deeper level than everyday life. For a long time after moving there, our Church in Vancouver made me homesick on a weekly basis.
    I would recommend seeing how the care ministry can support you.

Leave a Reply

